Some posts contain compensated links. Please read this disclaimer for more info.

定居克羅地亞與夏天在千島之國度假的經驗截然不同。 我們給有興趣嘗試的人士準備了一些小錦囊:所需文件、找尋居所、 工作機會、交朋結友、銀行戶口、互聯網絡及更多。

想移居克羅地亞?需要考慮的事情

你剛從克羅地亞海岸度完假兩周,且愛上了所見所聞!定居克羅地亞猶如美夢成真!那會是怎樣一回事,又可以怎樣成事?

我這個自2003年已長居克羅地亞的大英子民,可以坦承自己不能再居住地球上其他地方。 克羅地亞的生活方式,不論好壞,已在我的血液裡。而這有點像瘧疾,一入血液中,終身長留。不過,定居克羅地亞與來這裡度假完全是千差萬別。

克羅地亞極度秀美、克羅地亞人熱情好客,而當地的生活方式教深受壓力的上班一族羡慕不已。不過,若克羅地亞真是人間天堂,克羅地亞人—特別是年青人—為何卻大量離國?

雖然我推薦想變更生活方式的人來克羅地亞居住,但他們必須打醒十二分精神。因為這是一個你會遇上官僚、貪污及循正常渠道難以找到工作的國家;對外國人而言更是如此。

現今世代沒有任何地方是完美。但居住克羅地亞的好處遠較壞處多。我極力建議大家先嘗試暫居克羅地亞六個月再決定是否要長居。並非所有人都可以適應。一旦夏天練成的健康膚色一褪,現實可能會有點殘酷。這是我在克羅地亞住滿15年的反思

登記你的住宿及居留證

見識克羅地亞官僚的入門課無疑從登記你的住宿開始,這是法律上的責任。你可前往當區的警察局,填一些表格,你就會進入克羅地亞的系統!Total Zagreb 介紹了整個程序,包括網上表格的鏈結。全國不同地區的手續基本上大同小異。

如果你逗留的時間比較長,你必須申請(臨時)居留證。居留證是生活在克羅地亞最複雜的事情之一。每一位外國人都有自身的故事,有些更非簡單直接。

以我為例: 我連續四年申請一年臨時居留證。之後,我考了一個簡單的克羅地亞語測驗,便獲取了長期居留。 我理論上與克羅地亞人擁有相同的權利。居留證每10年續一次。

與其他外國人傾談之後,我發覺自己的情況似乎是非常順利那些。其他人遇上大問題,而官方的回覆莫衷一是。 歐洲經濟區的國民申請居留證較其他地方的人順利得多。

就申請克羅地亞臨時居留而言,美國人似乎較其他人面對更多困難。TCN搜集了幾個近期的例子寫成特稿,當中包括美國退休人士定居克羅地亞有多難

我TCN 的同事 Lauren 寫了一篇佳作:克羅地亞居留證概述。我能說的是: 祝君好運!

尋找居所

尋找容身之所顯然是優先要處理的事項。如果你受僱某公司,他們應該會幫忙搜尋住所。但如果你靠自己,又不會說克羅地亞語,這可以是艱巨的任務。

你亦應該留意旅遊季節對租賃市場的影響。很多本地家庭依靠夏天度假人士的租房收入。「長期」 租約不包括夏天月份其實不少見。但也有本地人偏好長期租客,因為旅遊季節蠻短。

這是一篇概述: 在克羅地亞找房子需知事項

醫療保險

如果你定居克羅地亞,必須有醫療保險。完成警察局的登記之後,下一站是負責國民醫保的HZZO當區辦事處。這是你獲得本地醫療保險的程序。想更全面了解克羅地亞醫療,請查閱Total Croatia 保健概覽

定居克羅地亞 – 有那些生活費?

雖然克羅地亞的物價確實不如從前便宜,但相較英國的價錢仍是宜人的改變。在赫瓦爾(Hvar)島的耶爾薩(Jelsa)那恬靜的廣場,我經年都只付1.5英鎊便享用到一杯午飯前的啤酒。2016年往倫敦公幹可真是大吃一驚。

但這只是現實的一部份。克羅地亞的薪金較英國低很多。很多家庭至少種植一些自己的食物。很多我們家裡所需—橄欖油、酒、水果及蔬菜—來自家族的土地。

現實是,克羅地亞的物價對觀光客十分划算,對本地人卻越益昂貴。在鄰近國家理應價格相若的貨品,卻似乎總在克羅地亞價更高。夏天的旅遊季節亦把超級市場的物價推高了。

進口貨亦是在克羅地亞更昂貴。從購買電腦到汽車,在其他地區買了再帶進克羅地亞總是比較划算,幾乎無一例外。 即使那涉及處理入口汽車進克羅地亞的種種官僚樂趣

尋找更全面的克羅地亞物價概述—從牛奶價格到房子租金?

銀行戶口、 互聯網、電話及個人身份號碼 (OIB)

定居克羅地亞的沉悶事務:如何完成日常生活的必要銷事。了解如何開立銀行戶口、把你的新居接上互聯網、 選擇手機服務套餐及申請個人身份號碼 (OIB)

在克羅地亞找工作容易嗎?

如果很容易在克羅地亞找到薪金不俗又富滿足感的工作,就不會有那麼多年輕人離鄉別井。

不幸的真相是很多工作為季節性且薪酬低。當工作空缺真的出現,它們通常預早被親朋戚友佔據了。裙帶關係是克羅地亞日常生活的一大板塊,而關係影響一切。這包括看醫生、申請許可證,甚至獲取劇院門票。克羅地亞靠關係(preko veze)來運作。

克羅地亞現為歐盟一員,勞工可以在整個地區自由流動。 雖說其他歐盟成員國的國民可不受限制在克羅地亞工作,但最終的結果卻是克羅地亞人移居德國和愛爾蘭展開新生活。

克羅地亞的薪金相比歐盟其他成員國低很多 (約 800 歐元一個月)。這是克羅地亞人移民的另一原因。我現居瓦拉日丁(Varazdin),該市鄰近奧地利及德國。任何人從電工到網頁開發者都很難找到,因為稍往西行薪酬高得多。

若非某公司把你帶到克羅地亞,我發覺找到工作的最佳途徑要靠口碑。積極參與外國人的討論區(參閱下文)、 在 LinkedIn建立網絡,或僅僅多投入當地生活。

或建立自己的生意。在克羅地亞自僱帶來另一層全新而美妙的官僚程序。但若你找到自己的利基(niche),這是另一出路。

定居克羅地亞: 外國人的成功經驗

外國人在克羅地亞做生意真的可以成功嗎?簡單的回答是:可以!

當數以萬計的克羅地亞人逆向而行,TCN 最近的系列介紹了成功移居克羅地亞的外國人。當中多元化的經驗及外國人在克羅地亞這人間天堂找到的利基,實在教我驚訝不已。想找些靈感,可查看TCN的專題系列: 在克羅地亞的成功外國企業家

數碼遊牧民(Digital nomads)及共同工作空間 (co-working spaces)

近年移居到克羅地亞的外國人增幅顯著。舉斯普利特(Split)為例,我十年前幾可盡數長居當地的外國人。

近來卻每周有新人報到。為數不少似乎是數碼遊牧民 (digital nomads)。在網絡上謀生配上克羅地亞的生活方式確是十分誘人 (問一問這鍵盤後的博客就一清二楚,7年以來大部份時間在海濱咖啡館工作)。

這是必勝組合的另一原因是它完成了克羅地亞人的夢想:定居克羅地亞卻從外國賺取生活。完美的天作之合!

雖然首都薩格勒布(Zagreb)是吸引外國人的最強磁石,斯普利特(Split)可爭一日之長短。近年如雨後春筍的共同工作空間正滿足那需求。 TCN 近來就這題目作了特寫。如果你正尋找薩格勒布的共同工作空間, 這是當中五強

如果你初到貴境,共同工作空間也是社交及結識朋友的好地方。

全新的數碼遊牧民居留證正式於2021年1月1日生效。對非歐盟/歐洲經濟區的遠距工作人士(remote workers)來說,可來克羅地亞工作12個月確是令人興奮雀躍的大好機會。好些人已早着先機,成功申請到居留證。

認識一下Melissa Paul,首張克羅地亞數碼遊牧民居留證的得主

如果你想一看新的的居留證會帶來多棒的生活方式和可能性,認識一下赫瓦爾(Hvar)島首位獲准居留的數碼遊牧民,來自三藩市的市場推廣顧問:在克羅地亞的美國人:從短居赫瓦爾到成功取得數碼遊牧民居留證

有興趣申請居留證? 你現時可以網上提交申請

定居克羅地亞: 在克羅地亞的國際學校

如果你打算移居克羅地亞又有在學子女,國際學校的選擇主要在薩格勒布。不過,把子女送到本地學校也是難得的經驗(特別有助學習克羅地亞語)。國際學校暫時主要集中在首都,此外還有國際幼稚園可供選擇。

2021年2月傳出好消息:斯普利特(Split)將會開辦首間國際學校

學習克羅地亞語: 必須嗎?

你在克羅地亞但不懂克羅地亞語可以生存嗎?可以。你應該至少學點克羅地亞語嗎?當然。

除了基於禮貌,不會至少一些克羅地亞語意味你會錯過一些生活在克羅地亞的經驗。

幾乎所有年輕克羅地亞人的英語水平皆不錯。你在較大的城市不懂克羅地亞語,日常生活問題也不大。唯一例外是那些官僚辦事處, 讓你愛恨交纏去跟進文件進度的時候。那些辦事處由保守派把持,他們的英語就不怎麼樣。又或者他們的英語其實不差,但他們不覺得需要伸出援手。

隻言片語的克羅地亞語會教本地人深感欣喜你願意努力嘗試,即使你不一定是語言天才。

在我們語言在克羅地亞章節了解多一些學習克羅地亞語的點滴。

在克羅地亞交朋結友: 一些網上群組

怎樣在新的國家交朋結友?

在克羅地亞認識新朋友非常容易。我發覺這裡的咖啡文化對社交大有幫助。不過,一位年輕的 TCN撰稿人Mira Maughan 把克羅地亞的社交生活總括得更出色。Mira 最近替 TCN 撰寫了她的首篇精彩文章: 在克羅地亞的生活: 一位外國青少年在薩格勒布一年的反思。文章介紹了交朋結友的自在容易。

當然還有很多其他認識新朋友的資源。 Total Zagreb 概述了怎樣 在網上搜尋外國人社交群組及聚會

簡單在面書 (Facebook) 以克羅地亞城市或地區搜尋外國人群組給你好些選擇。特別值得一提的是斯普利特群組 (Expats meets Split) 及薩格勒布群組(Expats in Zagreb )。兩個面書群組的成員皆非常投入參與及熱情友好。有些成員長期無私給予新人免費的建議及幫助。

一個外國人在克羅地亞的三個學習階段: 愛、恨及涅槃

我在克羅地亞的首十年,住在風光如畫的旅遊區赫瓦爾(Hvar)島上,在自己恬靜的氣泡中生活。我不能理解為何有些當地人終日投訴,而另一些選擇離開。 克羅地亞可真是人間樂土。

之後我認識了真正的克羅地亞。我相信八成(若非更多) 外國人愛上克羅地亞,只從觀光客的角度見到美景處處。大約15%的外國人真的投入去參與、開展生意,結果被官僚及貪污弄至偏體鱗傷。這類別的人會形容克羅地亞是「完美的兩周度假地點,但可怕的移居選擇」。

剩下5%的人經歷完所有高低起伏之後達致涅槃之境、與 Uhljebistan安然共處,然後只集中精力在克羅地亞最好的人和事上。而那其實很多。我花了15年時間到達彼岸。你可以查看一個外國人在克羅地亞的三個學習階段: 愛、恨及涅槃

對剛抵達達爾馬提亞(Dalmatia)的新人,我試圖把自己15年的沮喪濃縮成一句建議。如果大家可以掌握及擁抱這句說話,他們會立刻海闊天空。如果不可以,他們將面對經年的挫敗,就如我之前一樣 — 直至他們接受這一句話:

不要嘗試改變達爾馬提亞,但預期達爾馬提亞會改變你。

克羅地亞預設的負面心態

不論我多愛克羅地亞人,他們可真是投訴的奧運冠軍。 被腐敗的領袖欺壓,再加上有限的經濟機會,近年只有少數人敢說希望在明天。

新倡議往往會被譏諷及攻擊至沒有機會開始。即使克羅地亞正面的成功故事為數甚多,有一句說話還是所言甚真: 一個克羅地亞人可以原諒你任何事,除了成功。於是,很多成功人士低調行事。結果就造成克羅地亞日常生活中的一切都是負面的觀感。這負面的漩渦本不必如此。正面的故事需要更多被表揚。

什麼是「uhljeb」: 介紹國強勢大的「Uhljebistan」

我住了13年才首次認識 「uhljeb」這個字及聽聞「Uhljebistan」: 克羅地亞國內的裙帶之國。一旦我了解更多「Uhljebistan」的運作,我體會更深很多克羅地亞朋友的負面心態是怎麼一回事。

第一次踏足國強勢大的「Uhljebistan」? 請查閱: 歡迎來到Uhljebistan: 一個外國人所理解的Uhljeb崇拜

克羅地亞的生活方式與西歐的對比

一位我沒有碰面25載的舊同學,幾年前到了斯塔里格勒(Stari Grad)。可以與他一家聚舊實在很好。他的生活亦很幸福:他成為一間會計師事務所的合夥人、擁有自己的船及一間位於倫敦市郊的大屋。他明顯賺錢較我多很多。

不過,當他細說每周的生活規律、一早6時往倫敦上班、旅遊開支、房貸及育兒費用,我意識到自己找到克羅地亞這樂土實在十分幸運。

克羅地亞是十分輕鬆悠閒的國家。若你可以避開官僚及貪污,生活簡直是完美。你在物質生活不會大富大貴,但就生活質素而言,在歐洲幾乎無出其右。 回想百萬富翁與漁夫的故事。如果你準備好接受那些離奇之處且設定好自己的期望……

何不放手一試?

Living in Croatia is a much different experience to a summer holiday. Some tips of paperwork, finding a home, job, friends, bank account, internet and more.

Thinking of moving to Croatia? Some things to consider

You have just returned from a fortnight on the Croatia coast, and you have fallen in love. Living in Croatia would be a dream! What is it like, and how to make that dream a reality?

As a Brit living in Croatia full-time since 2003, I can honestly say that now I could no longer live anywhere else. The Croatian lifestyle, for better or worse, is in my blood. And once there, a little like malaria, it is there for life. Having said that, living in Croatia and coming for a holiday are as different (perhaps more so) than chalk and cheese.

Croatia is fantastically beautiful, its people hospitable and its lifestyle the envy of all stressed executives. BUT if it was such a paradise, why is Croatia plagued with mass emigration, its youth in particular?

Although I would recommend that people come and live in Croatia if they are looking for a lifestyle change, they should do it with their eyes wide open. For this is a country of bureaucracy, corruption and limited job opportunities through conventional channels. Especially for foreigners.

Nowhere is perfect in the modern age, but the pros far outweigh the cons. I would strongly recommend you try living in Croatia for 6 months before committing your life. It is not for everyone, and once the summer beach tan fades, the reality can be a little harsh. Here are my reflections after 15 years in the country.

Registering your stay and residence permits

Your introduction to the joys of Croatian bureaucracy will undoubtedly start with registering your stay, which you must do by law. Go to your local police station, fill out some forms, and enter the system! Total Zagreb did an overview of the procedure, including a link to the online form. It is the same in the rest of the country.

If you are staying for a longer period, then you will require a residence permit. Residence permits in Croatia are one of the great complications in life. Each expat will have his own story, and few will be straightforward.

In my case, I applied for a temporary one-year residence permit each year for four years. After this (and after taking a simple Croatian language test), I received my permanent residency. This theoretically entitles me to the same rights as locals. It is renewable every ten years.

From talking to other expats, however, it seems that my case was very smooth. Others have had huge problems, with official advice varying from office to office. There is also a HUGE difference on residence permits for EEA citizens and the rest. And who knows what the situation will be after Brexit for the Brits.

For some reason, Americans seem to endure more hardships than any others when it comes to residence permits in Croatia. TCN featured several examples recently, including how hard it is for American retirees to live in Croatia.

My TCN colleague Lauren did an excellent overview of residence permits in Croatia. All I can say is… good luck!

Finding an apartment

Finding a place to stay is obviously an early priority. If you are being hired by a company, they may well help with the accommodation search. But if you are on your own, this can be a daunting task, particularly if you do not speak the language.

You should also be aware of the effect that the tourist season has on the rental market. Short-term summer holiday rentals are waht keep many families afloat, and it is not uncommon for long-term rentals to exclude the summer months. Having said that, the possibility of year-round income is attractive, as the tourist season is short.

Here is an overview of what you need to know when searching for an apartment in Croatia.

Health insurance

If you are living in Croatia, you must have health insurance. Once you have registered your stay with the police, your next stop will be to the local HZZO office. Here is what you need to do to get your health insurance. For a more comprehensive overview of health in Croatia, check out the Total Croatia health overview.

Living in Croatia – what are the costs?

While it is certainly true that Croatia is not as cheap as it used to be, it is also a pleasant change to prices in the UK, for example. After years of paying about £1.50 for my late morning pint on Jelsa’s idyllic main square on Hvar, a business trip to London came as quite a shock back in 2016.

But that is only part of the story. Wages in Croatia are much lower than the UK. It is also true that many families grow at least some of their own food. Much of our family’s needs – olive oil, wine, fruit and vegetables – came from the family field.

The reality is that Croatia is very affordable for tourists, but increasingly expensive for locals. Items which should be the same price in neighbouring countries always seem to be more expensive in Croatia, and the summer season sees a hike in supermaket prices.

Imported goods are also a lot more expensive if bought in Croatia. In almost all cases, from buying a computer to buying a car, it makes financial sense to buy something elsewhere and then bring it into Croatia. Even if that means dealing with the bureaucratic joys of importing a car into Croatia.

Looking for a more comprehensive overview of prices in Croatia, from the price of milk to apartment rental?

Bank accounts, Internet, phones and personal ID number (OIB)

The boring bit about living in Croatia – how to get those daily essentials set up. Learn more about how to open a bank account, getting your newly-found home connected to the Internet, choosing a mobile-phone package, and getting a personal ID number (OIB)

How easy is it to find a job in Croatia?

If it was easy to find a well-paid and fulfilling job in Croatia, not so many young people would be emigrating.

The sad truth is that a lot of work is seasonal and poorly paid. Where jobs do exist, they are usually reserved for friends and family. Nepotism is a huge part of daily life in Croatia, and connections are all. This includes getting a doctor’s appointment, sorting a permit, even tickets to the theatre. Croatia runs ‘preko veze’ (through connections).

Now that Croatia is in the EU, there is freedom of labour. While this means that EU citizens can freely work in Croatia, the net result has been Croats moving to Germany and Ireland to start a new life.

Salaries in Croatia are very low compared to the rest of the EU (about 800 euro a month), and this is another reason for emigration. I now live in Varazdin, which is close to Austria and Germany. Everything from an electrician to a web developer is hard to find, for the wages are so much higher a little further West.

If a company has not brought you to Croatia, the best way of finding work is through word of mouth in my experience. Get active on expat forums (see below), network through LinkedIN, and just generally get yourself out there.

Or start your own business. Being self-employed in Croatia comes with a whole new layer of that lovely bureaucracy, but if you can find your niche, it can work.

Living in Croatia: successful expat experiences

So can foreigners succeed in business in Croatia? The simple answer is YES!

TCN had a series recently looking at successful foreigners who had made the move to Croatia, as hundreds of thousands were heading in the opposite direction. I was stunned to see the diversity of experiences, as well as the niches people had found for their Croatian paradise. Looking for some inspiration – check out the TCN series of successful foreign entrepreneurs in Croatia.

Digital nomads and co-working spaces

There has been a significant increase in the number of foreigners moving to Croatia in recent years. Looking at Split, for example, ten years ago, I would be able to name most of the foreigners living there full-time.

These days, however, there are new arrivals every week. A significant number of these seem to be digital nomads. Online living and the Croatian lifestyle is a very attractive way of life (just ask this blogger after 7 years at the keyboard, mostly from waterfront cafes).

Another reason why this is a winning combination is because it fulfils the Croatian dream. Living in Croatia and earning your money abroad – perfection!

While Zagreb as the capital is the biggest magnet for foreign workers, Split is certainly competing. The number of co-working spaces which have popped up in recent years is meeting that demand. It is an issue that TCN featured recently. And if you are looking for a co-working space in Zagreb, here are 5 of the best.

Co-working spaces are also very social and a good place to meet people if you are new in town.

Living in Croatia: International schools in Croatia

If you are planning on living in Croatia and have a young family, then your international schooling options are limited to Zagreb. That having been said, there is nothing quite like immersing the kids in the local school system (great for learning Croatian!), but international schools are limited to the capital for now. There are also international kindergarten options.

Learning the language: is it necessary?

Can you survive in Croatia without learning the language? Yes. Should you learn at least some Croatian? For sure.

Apart from the issue of politeness, not speaking at least some of the local language means that you will miss out on the living in Croatia experience.

Almost all young people speak English to a pretty decent level, and you will be able to get by no problem in bigger urban areas. The exception is in those lovely bureaucratic offices as you chase your papers. These are often ruled by the old guard, whose English is not so good. Or perhaps it is, but they don’t feel the need to be helpful.

A few words of Croatian will go a long way in locals appreciating you making the effort, even if you are not a language genius.

Learn more about learning Croatia in our language in Croatia section.

Making friends in Croatia: some online groups

How to meet people in a new country?

Meeting people in Croatia is very easy. I have found it to be a very sociable country with its coffee culture. But I think it is best summarised by young TCN contributor Mira Maughan. Mira recently wrote an excellent first article for TCN called Life in Croatia: Reflections of a Foreign Teenager One Year in Zagreb. The article gives a very nice introduction to the ease of meeting people.

There are, of course, plenty of other resources for meeting people. Total Zagreb has a good overview for finding expat groups and events online.

A simple Facebook search for expat groups by city or region in Croatia will give you several options. Special mention to the Expats meets Split Facebook page, which is very active and welcoming. There are several regular contributors who selflessly give free advice and help to newcomers.

The Croatian lifestyle versus Western Europe

A few years ago, a schoolfriend I had not seen in 25 years sailed into Stari Grad. It was great to catch up and to meet his family. Life for him was good. He was a partner in an accountancy firm, had his own boat and a big house outside of London, obviously earning a LOT more than me.

And yet, as he told me of his weekly routine and the 6 am commute to London, the cost of travel, mortgage and childcare, I realised how lucky I was to have found my Croatian paradise.

Croatia is a very laid-back country, where life can be perfect if you can shield yourself from the bureaucracy and corruption. You may not get rich her in material terms, but in terms of quality of life, it has no equal in Europe. Think the billionarie and the fisherman. If you prepare yourself for its quirks and set your expectations correctly.

Why not give it a try?

Write A Comment