Some posts contain compensated links. Please read this disclaimer for more info.

有1000多個克羅地亞島嶼可供選擇,哪個適合你? 一個英國人在克羅地亞島上生活了13年的概述、建議和秘訣。

克羅地亞島嶼的概述

克羅地亞–千島之國,無盡的海岸線,還有窮一生曬太陽也去不完的海灘。 真正做到了「一如往昔的地中海」。 但克羅地亞究竟有幾多個島嶼,以及選擇哪一個去度假?

像人生大多數事情一樣,克羅地亞人無法就他們擁有多少座島嶼達成共識。 一些推廣宣傳說有1,244,而另一些文獻則引用了1,185作為真實數字。 但有一點是肯定的: 如果你正在與某家公司計劃假期,你的選擇變得容易了很多。 因為有人居住的島嶼少於50個。

在有人居住的島嶼上有種類繁多且各有特色的景點可以欣賞和享受。 從公認的旅遊目的地中進行選擇有Losinj、Krk、Pag和Korcula,或者前往遙遠的Lastovo或Susak沉浸在幸福的寧靜。 無論你想在島上尋找怎樣的體驗,都可以在克羅地亞找到。 讓我們來看看!

croatian islands map

開始之前:你想在島上尋找怎樣的體驗?

在躍躍欲試並預訂船票之前,先退後一步,考慮一下你想在島上尋找怎樣的體驗是明智之舉。 克羅地亞各島嶼可提供的體驗大相逕庭,當你的完美島嶼就位於亞德里亞海沿岸時,你卻最終失望而回。

派對旅遊業正在興起,這領域的群龍之首毫無疑問是Pag,其著名的海灘位於Novalja附近的Zrce。 然而,同一島嶼卻提供了擁有古橄欖樹又寧靜的Lun。同樣地,旺季的赫瓦爾鎮(Hvar Town)已成為派對聚會的熱門目的地,但離開該鎮三公里,來到寧靜的Velo Grablje村莊,你將踏入不同的文化和前世。

有些來享受海灘,有些來追逐夜生活,有些只是為了放鬆。 但是,越來越多人希望盡可能擠滿假期的時光,這意味著你需要了解一件重要的事情: 輕鬆跳島的現實。

克羅地亞島嶼與交通可行性

在達爾馬提亞 (Dalmatia)一島上生活了13年之後,我學到了一兩個關於交通的知識和渡輪時間表的重要。

在家預訂了的小島假期,那麼如詩似畫。近看起來原來並不那麼超凡。當你從機場到達渡輪碼頭之後,還要意識到最後一艘渡輪已離開了。

同樣地,惡劣天氣會導致清晨的雙體船被取消,要是對你趕上回程航班至關重要,這可能是代價高昂的事件。

如果去克羅地亞的島嶼旅行,應該至少對交通可行性這個題目有個小小的想法。在島上租車可能會便宜一些 (進一步了解相關的優缺點)。

有些島嶼非常靠近大陸,因此很適合一日遊。例如,布拉奇 (Brač)和Solta,渡輪航程少於一小時。其他島嶼,例如Ciovo和Krk,則由橋樑接通,事情就變得更容易。但是,有很多島嶼需要你在渡輪上度過大部分時間。因此,請研究一下以找出最適合你的解決方案。

另一個重要的考慮因素是跳島有多容易。 從一個島到另一個島很受歡迎。但是,只有渡輪和雙體船的時間表切合你的需要才有意義。 可惜的是,許多情況下在克羅地亞並非如此,尤其是你開車的話。

例如,沒有汽車渡輪從赫瓦爾(Hvar)布拉奇(Brač)維斯(Vis)。 如果想在這些島嶼之間跳島,則需要耗時(且昂貴地)往返斯普利特(Split)

考慮到所有這些因素,最有趣的島嶼在哪裡? 下面是從北到南的簡要概述……

Brijuni

croatian islands brijuni

在最重要和最北部的島嶼Brijuni待上5分鐘後就證明了克羅地亞的島嶼充滿多樣性。

你沒想到會發現斑馬、設得蘭群島(Shetland)小馬和一頭大象在克羅地亞群島漫遊吧? 不僅如此,上世紀以來,Brijuni還接待了不少於60位世界領導人,其中包括阿拉法特、加達菲和其他大人物。

Brijuni是壯觀的群島,距伊斯特拉(Istria)半島僅一段短途渡輪,是鐵托總統直到1980年去世之前的主要基地。這是一次非常有趣的遊覽

Cres和洛希尼 (Lošinj)

croatia islands cres losinj

在克羅地亞,沒有多少地方可以直飛威尼斯,而這只是洛希尼機場的新航線之一。活力之島近年來經歷了豪華轉型,小洛希尼(Mali Losinj)成為亞德里亞海的頂級島嶼目的地之一。 不要錯過Apoxyomenos博物館。 了解更多洛希尼的資訊

洛希尼還經一條很短的橋連接到Cres。Cres是另一個自然天堂,也是罕見的歐亞兀鷲的故鄉,你可以往Beli生態中心參觀。了解更多Cres島的信息

Susak

croatian islands susak

克羅地亞沙灘罕見令許多遊客感到驚訝,岩石和卵石海灘主導了克羅地亞的海岸線。 但是,也有例外。洛希尼和Cres以西一點的Susak小島就是其一。 這是一個迷人的島嶼,充滿了傳統。 島上許多著名的事情當中,包括傳統服飾擁有克羅地亞最短的裙子。 可悲的是,它也是一個龐大的移民中心。TCN仔細研究了Susak的歷史和文化

Krk

croatian islands vrbnik krk

如果你正在尋找連接良好的島嶼,那麼Krk就是你的最佳選擇。 Krk是里耶卡機場(Rijeka Airport)的所在地,它也通過橋樑與大陸相連。 隨著克羅地亞高速公路網絡的擴展,從薩格勒布(Zagreb)乘車僅需2個小時即可到達Krk。 這使它成為極受薩格勒布當地人歡迎的逃逸島嶼,許多人在那裡都有度假屋。 主要的石頭小鎮-也叫Krk-很漂亮,但是花一些時間還可以參觀Vrbnik和生產著名本土品種Zlahtina的葡萄園。 它也是一個美食之島,不多久你就會沉迷於當地特產surlice

Rab

croatian islands rab

Rab最出名的事情當中,包括一位島民創立了聖馬力諾(San Marino),而一位退位的英國君主則在1936年訪問Rab時開始了自然主義旅遊文化。 某天午餐後, 愛德華(Edward)和辛普森太太(Simpson)要求並獲得允許在當地海灣進行瘦身浸洗 。 這是標誌著克羅地亞FKK旅遊業展開的事件,也是當今克羅地亞旅遊業非常重要的一面。 被稱為快樂之島,並以其教堂聞名,更了解Rab一些

Pag

我懷疑自己是否會遊覽一個好像Pag一樣多姿多彩的島嶼。 對很多人來說意味著很多事情。 想參加節日派對嗎? Novalja和Zrce海灘是克羅地亞夏季派對聚會的麥加聖地。 世界一流的奶酪? 進入Gligora,經常被稱為生產世界上最好奶酪的Pag公司。

克羅地亞最好的烤羊肉嗎? 那是Pag。 該國最令人印象深刻的橄欖樹? 給我看看比Lun還壯麗的橄欖樹: 1000棵已有1000多年歷史的古樹。還擁有下列遺產的島嶼: 一個不明飛行物體(UFO)降落點、聯合國教科文組織確認的花邊 (lace)生產和令人著迷的海鹽生產歷史? 那是Pag。 Pag靠近扎達爾(Zadar),並通過橋樑與大陸相連, 了解這個不尋常島嶼更多信息

Kornati 群島

croatian islands zut festa kornati

我在達爾馬提亞(Dalmatia)青蔥的赫瓦爾(Hvar)島上生活了這麼長時間,對Kornati群島從來不特別感興趣。 相比之下,它們似乎是如此貧瘠,但我聽到了遊人許多精彩故事。 特別是那些揚帆穿梭國家公園的人: 隱藏的海灣、小小的鄉村餐廳、一些世界上最好的羊肉。 直至我初次到訪,一小時之內我已經迷上了。我沒有記錄自己的第一印象,但是TCN的克羅地亞同事記錄了下來,且寫得很漂亮。 如果你正在尋找餐廳的建議,在Zut的Festa提供了難以超越這次慶祝活動的餐飲

Solta

croatian islands solta

是克羅地亞最被低估的島嶼之一,從斯普利特(Split)乘渡輪僅需50分鐘。 其魅力四射的鄰居赫瓦爾(Hvar)和布拉奇(Brac)總是在射燈下,它受到了打擊,而來訪的遊客也更少了。

他們錯過了真正的小島體驗,除了以優質橄欖油和蜂蜜聞名,其Dobrocic葡萄品種與仙粉黛(Zinfandel)屬同一家族。 細閱關於Solta島的25件事

布拉奇 (Brač)

blaca monastery brac

克羅地亞是最高的島嶼,也是交通較便利和人氣較高的島嶼之一,布拉奇 (Brač)擁有無數的特色。 從斯普利特(Split)乘渡輪僅一個小時,也有來自7個歐洲國家的直航航班,其著名的石頭可以在世界上許多地標性建築中看到,包括白宮、布達佩斯議會和戴克里先宮(Diocletian’s Palace)。

但是布拉奇遠不止其石頭。 神秘的龍窟(Dragon’s Cave)、壯麗的Blaca修道院和古老的Skrip村莊是信手拈來的三個例子。 再加上很棒的食物、葡萄酒和橄欖油,還有很多引人入勝之處,盡在Total Croatia 的布拉奇一頁指南中

赫瓦爾(Hvar)

croatian islands hvar
Copyright Romulic and Stojcic

對於許多人來說,簡直是地球上最美麗的島嶼之一。 並且是一個充滿財富的島嶼。 赫瓦爾島經常被稱為歐洲最陽光燦爛的島嶼,歐洲最古老公共劇院的所在地和歐洲有組織旅遊業的發源地,其聯合國教科文組織的遺產也比世界上任何一個島嶼要多。 而這僅僅是開始!在Total Croatia 赫瓦爾一頁指南細看克羅地亞的優越島嶼。

維斯 (Vis)和Bisevo (藍洞)

croatian islands vis

維斯 (Vis)可以說是克羅地亞最迷人和最受歡迎的島嶼之一,其封閉軍事島的地位直到1991年才結束,於2017年換成荷里活/好萊塢大電影Mamma Mia 2: Here We Go Again的拍攝地點。維斯最離奇的主張當中, 包括該島為板球在英國以外的歐洲基地(可追溯到1809年)。 此外,達爾馬提亞(Dalmatia)最著名的景點之一近在咫尺: Bisevo上的藍洞(Blue Cave),因此不難理解為什麼這個曾經沉睡的小島正成為國際大熱。 在Total Croatia 維斯一頁指南中了解更多資訊

科爾丘拉 (Korčula)

korcula
Copyright Romulic and Stojcic

馬可·波羅/馬可·孛羅(Marco Polo)試圖放棄這個達爾馬提亞天堂的原因尚不清楚,他在沿著絲綢之路及其他地區的多彩旅程中發現了更多美麗的景點卻甚可疑。

科爾丘拉島(Korcula)是美味的Grk和Posip白葡萄酒的故鄉,它是天然避風港,基於其自然之美、文化、遺產、美食和探險旅遊而專注於優質旅遊。 科爾丘拉島是13世紀第一個廢除奴隸制的地方,在Total Croatia科爾丘拉一頁指南中了解該島更多信息。

Mljet

競逐最具原始自然美島嶼的比賽中,很少島嶼會擊敗綠色天堂Mljet島。 島上一半以上的土地被歸入Mljet國家公園(Mljet National Park),那裡有無盡的綠色森林和兩個鹹水湖,Mljet提供了克羅地亞最好的自然風光。 聖保羅和奧德修斯都在這裡遇難,他們找不到更神聖的島嶼。 近年來,往Mljet的交通已大為改善。 除了常規的渡輪外,每天都有季節性的雙體船將其連接到杜布羅夫尼克(Dubrovnik)、科爾丘拉(Korcula)、赫瓦爾(Hvar)、布拉奇(Brac)和斯普利特(Split)。進一步了解神奇的Mljet

Lastovo

有人居住的克羅地亞島嶼很少像Lastovo那樣遙遠或令人驚嘆。 該島與大陸之間的距離使其變得有些獨立,並產生了自己的文化傳統。 例如,迷人的Lastovo狂歡節是克羅地亞最著名和最獨特之一。Lastovo呼吸著自然與寧靜,島上大部分地區已移交給短片所見的自然公園。 每天經渡輪和雙體船與大陸相連(不,不建議一日遊,至少逗留兩天並好好放鬆),不要錯過出色的龍蝦和其他海鮮。這是你在Lastovo能期望的一切

Elaphiti群島

croatian islands elaphiti

想在杜布羅夫尼克(Dubrovnik)避開人群嗎? 解救近在眼前! 亞德里亞海的明珠在夏季可能會非常繁忙,但值得慶幸的是,克羅地亞有幾個不那麼繁忙的島嶼,可以經常規船隻輕鬆到達。

Elaphiti群島是該著名城市前面的一群島嶼,總人口約為850人。它們的名字取自曾經在那兒漫遊的鹿,Sipan、Lopud和Kolocep這三個主要島嶼都各具獨色,吸引了越來越多的遊客。 在TCN Elaphiti群島概述中了解更多信息。

Palagruza 和 Jabuka,最後的疆界

croatian islands palagruza

然後,有些遊客搜尋一些偏僻的地方。 幾乎完全沒有交通但仍可以到達的島嶼。 克羅地亞距意大利最近的島嶼是Jabuka,這是一塊火山岩,無法參觀。 稍近並略為可以到達的是Palagruza。 著名且遙遠的燈塔島有一隻常駐驢子來陪伴燈塔管理員。 想參觀嗎? 如果你像一位TCN記者那樣曾經與燈塔管理員約會,那將很有幫助,並可以留下有趣搞笑的文字記憶

在小島逗留期間尋找古怪的東西嗎?這是你在克羅地亞島上絕對不會期望找到的25種東西。 其中一些非常不尋常!

You have more than 1,000 Croatian islands to choose from: which one is for you? An overview, practical advice and hidden tips from a Brit who lived for 13 years on a Croatian island.

Croatian islands: an overview

Croatia, the land of more than a thousand islands, endless coastline and more beaches than you can sun worship on in a lifetime. Truly The Mediterranean as It Once Was. But how many islands exactly, and which one to choose for your holiday?

As with most things in live Croats cannot agree on how many islands they have. Some promotional literature says 1,244, while others cite 1,185 as the true number. One thing is for sure however; if you are looking for a holiday with some company, your choice just became a lot easier. That is because less than 50 are inhabited these days.

And there is plenty to see and enjoy on the inhabited islands, whose attractions vary considerably. Choose from more established tourist destinations such as Losinj, Krk, Pag and Korcula, or head for the blissful serenity of distant Lastovo or Susak. Whichever island experience you are looking for, you will find it in Croatia. Let’s take a look!

croatian islands map

Before you start: what island experience are you looking for?

Before jumping and booking your ferry tickets, it makes sense to step back and consider what kind of island experience you are looking for. Croatian islands offer such different experiences that you can easily end up disappointed when your perfect island was just along the Adriatic.

Party tourism is on the rise, and the undoubted leader in this regard is Pag, with its famous beach at Zrce near Novalja. And yet the same island offers the tranquillity of the ancient olive groves of Lun. Similarly, Hvar Town in peak season has become a popular party destination, but head 3 kilmotres out of town to the peaceful village of Velo Grablje, and you are in a different culture and a previous lifetime.

Some come for the beaches, some come for the nightlife, some come just to relax. A growing number, however, are looking to pack in as much into that holiday as possible, which means you need to understand one important thing – the realities of the ease of island hopping.

Croatian islands and accessibility

Having lived on a Dalmatian for 13 years, I have learned a thing or two about accessibilty and the importance of the ferry timetable.

An idyllic island holiday booked back home doesn’t look quite so spectacular close up after you have arrived at the ferry from the airport, only to realise that the last ferry has gone.

Similarly, rough weather causing the cancellation of the early morning catamaran which is essential to you making the return flight can be an expensive happening.

If you are travelling to Croatian islands, you should have at least a small thought to the topic of accessibility. Renting a car – it might be cheaper to do so on the island (read more about the pros and cons).

Some islands are very close to the mainland and make for great day trips (Brac and Solta, for example – ferry time under an hour. Others, such as Ciovo and Krk, are connected by bridge, making things even easier. But there are plenty of islands where you will spend much of the day on the ferry. So do a little research and find out which is the ideal solution for you.

The other important consideration is how easy it is to island hop. Moving from island to island is very popular, but it only makes sense if the ferry and catamaran timetables suit your needs. Sadly, in many cases in Croatia, they don’t especially if you are driving.

There are, for example, no car ferries from Hvar to either Brac or Vis. If you want to island hop between those islands, it will require a time-consuming (and expensive) visit to Split.

With all that in mind, where are the most interesting islands to visit? A brief overview below, from North to South…

Brijuni

croatian islands brijuni

The assertion that Croatian islands are full of diversity is proven after 5 minutes on the most important and most northern islands – Brijuni.

You didn’t expect to find zebras, Shetland ponies and an elephant roaming around Croatian islands? Not only that but Brijuni hosted no less than 60 world leaders in the last century, including Arafat, Ghadaffi and other tasty characters.

For Brijuni, a spectacular archepelago a short ferry ride from the Istrian peninsula, was the main base for President Tito until his death in 1980. It makes for one highly fascinating visit.

Cres and Losinj

croatia islands cres losinj

There are not many places in Croatia where you can fly directly to Venice, just one of the new connections to Losinj Airport. The Island of Vitality has undergone a luxury transformation in recent years, and Mali Losinj is not one of the top island destinations on the Adriatic. Don’t miss the Museum of Apoxyomenos. Learn more about Losinj.

Losinj is also connected by a very short bridge to Cres, another natural heaven and home to the rare Eurasian griffon, which you can visit at the Beli eco-centre. Find out more about the island of Cres.

Susak

croatian islands susak

Many tourists are surprised at the lack of sandy beaches in Croatia, a coastline where rocky and pebble beaches reigh supreme. There are exceptions, however, and the small island of Susak, a little to the west of Losinj and Cres, is one. It is a fascinating island, full of tradition. Among its many claims to fame is the fact that its traditional dress boasts the shortest skirt in Croatia. It was also sadly a huge centre of emigration. TCN took a closer look at the history and culture of Susak.

Krk

croatian islands vrbnik krk

If you are looking for an island with connectivity, look no further than Krk. Home to Rijeka Airport, Krk is also connected to the mainland by a bridge. With the expansion of the Croatian motorway network, Krk is not just 2 hours by car from Zagreb. This makes it a very popular island for Zagreb locals to escape to, and many have weekend houses there. The main stone town, also called Krk, is beautiful, but make some time to also visit Vrbnik and the Zlahtina vineyards of the island’s famous indigenous variety. It is also a gourmet island, and it won’t be long before you are indulging in the local speciality, surlice.

Rab

croatian islands rab

Among Rab’s more unusual claims to fame is that one of its sons founded San Marino, while an abdicating British monarch started the culture of naturist tourism while on a visit to Rab in 1936. After lunch one day, Edward and Mrs Simpson asked for and received permission to go skinny dipping in a local bay. It is an event which marks the start of FKK tourism in Croatia, a very important aspect of Croatian tourism today. Known as the Happy Island and famed for its churches, get to know Rab a little better.

Pag

I doubt I will ever visit an island with as much diversity as Pag. it means so many things to so many people. Looking to party at a festival? Novalja and Zrce beach is the Mecca of the Croatian partying on the coast in summer. World class cheese? Pop in to Gligora, the Pag company regularly named as producing the world’s best cheese.

The best lamb on the spit in Croatia? That would be Pag. The most impressive olive grove in the country? Show me one more majestic than the 1,000 olive trees more than 1,000 years old in Lun. An island which has its own UFO landing site, UNESCO lace production and fascinating salt production history? That would be Pag. Learn more about this unusual island close to Zadar and connected by bridge to the mainland.

The Kornati Islands

croatian islands zut festa kornati

Having lived for so long on the lush Dalmatian island of Hvar for so long, I was never particularly interested in the Kornati islands. They seemed so barren by comparison, and yet I heard so many great stories from people who had visited. Especially those who were sailing through its national parks. Hidden bays, tiny rustic restaurants, some of the best lamb in the world. By the time I was an hour into my first visit, I was hooked. I didn’t record my first impressions, but a Croatian TCN colleague did – beautifully written. And if you are looking for a restaurant suggestion, few meals surpassed this celebration at Festa on Zut.

Solta

croatian islands solta

One of Croatia’s most underrated islands, Solta lies just 50 minutes by ferry from Split. It suffers in the spotlight of its more glamorous neighbours, Hvar and Brac, and much fewer tourists visit.

They are missing out on a truly authentic experience on an island famed for its quality olive oil and honey, while its Dobrocic grape variety is related to Zinfandel. Here are 25 things to know about the gorgeous island of Solta.

Brac

blaca monastery brac

Croatia’s tallest island and also one of its more accessible and popular, Brac has so much to offer. Just an hour by ferry from Split and with direct flights from 7 European countries, its famous island stone is visible in many landmark buildings around the world, including The White House, Budapest Parliament and Diocletian’s Palace.

But there is so much more to Brac than its stone. The mysterious Dragon’s Cave, stunning Blaca Monastery and the ancient village of Skrip are just three. Add to that fabulous food, wine and olive oil, and there is plenty to entice in the Total Croatia Brac in a Page.

Hvar

croatian islands hvar
Copyright Romulic and Stojcic

For many, simply one of the most beautiful islands on the planet. And an island full of riches. Often called the sunniest island in Europe, home to the oldest public theatre in Europe and the birthplace of organised tourism in Europe, Hvar also has more UNESCO heritage than any island in the world. And that is just the start! Take a close look at Croatia’s premier island with the Total Croatia Hvar in a Page.

Vis and Bisevo (Blue Cave)

croatian islands vis

Arguably one of Croatia’s most fascinating and beloved islands, Vis swapped its status of closed military island until 1991 for film location for Hollywood blockbuster Mamma Mia 2: Here We Go Again in 2017. Among its most bizarre claims is that it is the home to cricket in Europe outside the UK (way back in 1809). Add to that its close proximity to one of Dalmatia’s top attractions – the Blue Cave on Bisevo – and it is not hard to realise why this once sleepy island is becoming an international hit. Learn more on the Total Croatia Vis in a Page.

Korcula

korcula
Copyright Romulic and Stojcic

Whatever temped Marco Polo to abandon this Dalmatian paradise is not known, but it is doubtful he found many more beautiful spots on his colourful journeys along the Silk Road and beyond.

Home to the delicious Grk and Posip white wines, Korcula is a natural haven which is concentrating on quality tourism, based on its natural beauty, culture, heritage, gastronomy and adventure tourism. Learn more about the island which was the first place to abolish slavery way back in the 13th century with the Total Croatia Korcula in a Page.

Mljet

In a competition for most beautiful island with unspoiled nature, few would beat the green paradise that is the island of Mljet. With more than half of the island given over to the Mljet National Park with its endless green forests and two saltwater lakes, Mljet offers some of the best nature in Croatia. Both St Paul and Odysseus were shipwrecked here, and they could not have found a more divine island. Mljet’s accessibility has improved considerably in recent years. In addition to the regular ferries, a daily seasonal catamaran also connects it to Dubrovnik, Korcula, Hvar, Brac and Split. Find out more about magical Mljet.

Lastovo

Few inhabited Croatian islands are as remote, or as stunning, as Lastovo. The island’s distance from the mainland has made it somewhat independent and producing its own cultural traditions. The fascinating Lastovo Carnival, for example, is one of the most famous and unique in Croatia. Lastovo breathes nature and tranquillity, and must of the island is given over to the Nature Park in the video above. Connected daily to the mainland by ferry and catamaran (no, this one is not advisable for a day trip, come for a minimum of a couple of days and chill), don’t miss the outstanding lobster and other seafood. Here is what you can expect on Lastovo.

Elaphiti islands

croatian islands elaphiti

In Dubrovnik and looking to escape the crowds? Help is at hand! The Pearl of the Adriatic can get very busy in summer, but thankfully there are several less busy Croatian islands which are easily accessible by regular boat.

The Elaphiti islands are a collection of islands in front of the famous city, with a total population of around 850. They take their name from the deer which used to roam there, and the three main islands of Sipan, Lopud and Kolocep all offer unique charms to their growing number of visitors. Learn more in the TCN overview of the Elaphiti islands.

Palagruza and Jabuka, the final frontier

croatian islands palagruza

And then there are the tourists looking for something extra remote. Islands which are almost totally inaccessible, and yet which can be reached. The closest of the Croatian islands to Italy is Jabuka, a lump of volcanic rock and impossible to visit. Closer and only ever so slightly more attainable is Palagruza. The famous and remote lighthouse island has a resident donkey to keep the lighthouse keeper. Want to visit? It helps if you are dating the lighthouse keeper, as one TCN correspondent was, with hilarious written memories of the experience.

Looking for something quirky during your island stay? Here are 25 things you would never expect to find on a Croatian island. Some of them are VERY unusual!

Write A Comment