Some posts contain compensated links. Please read this disclaimer for more info.

克羅地亞雖為小國,但歷來的發明和發現卻一直塑造世界。從特斯拉(Nikola Tesla)到Mate Rimac之餘,還有更多

克羅地亞旅遊局目前的宣傳口號—充滿活力(Full of Life)—正好給克羅地亞的發明和發現這題目設定最佳場景。 歐洲最炙手可熱的旅遊勝地確實充滿活力,但你曾否停下腳步想一想你的生活充滿克羅地亞(your life is full of Croatia) 的程度

克羅地亞的發明令世界獲益良多。看一下當中的表表者吧

獨一無二的特斯拉(Nikola Tesla)

讓我們先處理最顯而易見的爭議:到底特斯拉是塞爾維亞人還是克羅地亞人?就如這洋洋得意地區的所有其他事情,不同國家皆宣揚自己的權利。

事實是特斯拉為塞爾維亞族裔,但出生於現今克羅地亞境內的小村莊斯米連(Smiljan),離戈斯皮奇(Gospic)約六公里。他本人似乎對雙重出身同感自豪,但更關注自己畢身的努力,而其成果數目相當。

擁有大約三百項發明專利,特斯拉最為人熟悉的應該是發明了第一部交流電馬達,及發展了交流電的發電和傳送技術

進一步認識天才橫溢的特斯拉

現代電動車的天才: Mate Rimac

他可能才30出頭,但Mate Rimac已經是克羅地亞發明世界最出眾的一員。在一個毫無汽車工業的國家 Rimac Automobili 瘋靡了全球汽車業界,並吸引了數以百萬計的投資金額,當中的投資者包括保時捷 (Porsche)

croatian inventions mate rimac
與 Mate Rimac 及其心血結晶Concept One 合照於2016年特斯拉電動車拉力賽

製造了全球最快的超級跑車—首先是Concept One,現為Concept Two— Rimac Automobili 的核心業務是提供汽車電池及相關科技予其他汽車製造商

加上在中國設廠的計劃,這位年輕企業家確是前途無可限量。想了解更多有關Rimac及其大計,可參考這一篇2018年刋於金融時報(Financial Times)的精彩訪問。回溯數年還有Rimac在BBC 的另一篇訪問

法醫指紋: Ivan Vucetic

克羅地亞是非常安全的國家。這是每年吸引數以百萬計觀光客到來的原因之一。

這國家的保安傳統,可能與一位來自赫瓦爾的人有關:他發現指紋對撲滅罪行的重要性

croatian inventions ivan vucetic

Ivan Vuctetic 在19世紀末移居阿根廷,並用了本地化的名字Juan Vucetic 當上警察。一宗謀殺案的血手印令Vucetic 名滿天下,他至今仍被尊為指紋鑑定的開山始祖。 進一步認識Ivan Vucetic 及指紋鑑定的藝術

Slavoljub Penkala: 從筆到熱水瓶

1871年在匈牙利出生的Eduard Penkala,於20世紀初遷往屬於克羅地亞-斯拉沃尼亞王國(kingdom of Croatia-Slavonia)的薩格勒布(Zagreb)。他因忠於新的「祖國」決定歸化入籍克羅地亞,更用上新的名字Slavoljub (克羅地亞語直譯為「愛斯拉夫」)。

Penkala 非常多產。他貢獻給世界的克羅地亞發明當中,最著名的包括1906年面世的全球首支原芯筆/自動鉛筆,還有1907年的首支固態墨鋼筆。他是Penkala-Moster Company的公司合伙人。該公司曾經是全球最大的筆和鉛筆製造商

Penkala的才華遠遠超越筆的範圍。1910年,他建造了克羅地亞首部飛機,並且在薩格勒布史上第一個機場起飛。 他名下的80個專利,其他發明還包括熱水瓶

在巴黎的克羅地亞時尚: 領帶

croatian inventions cravat

克羅地亞人都很講究,他們的時髦衣著把這不善打扮的英國人弄得自慚形愧。所以克羅地亞給予世界領帶這優雅的服飾貢獻應該不教人意外。

摘自H. B. LeBlanc 1828年的「結領帶的藝術」:

克羅地亞軍團於1660 年抵達法國。他們特別的服裝有一部份引起最大的激賞,且立刻被廣泛模仿。

這是圍著頸部的衣物,由花邊製成的供士兵使用,軍官所用的則是平紋細布或絲綢製成。

兩端結成玫瑰花,或以鈕扣或簇絨(tufted) 裝飾,優雅地懸掛在胸前。這種新的服飾限制了喉嚨,但是非常輕微。起初被稱為克羅地亞人(Croat),之後改稱領帶(Cravat)。

官兵和高級人員的領帶都非常精緻,其末端以剌繡或用寬花邊裝飾。

低下階層的人後來用布、棉或頂多用黑色塔夫綢編成辮子,再用兩根小繩子綁在脖子上

國際領帶日於10月18日在克羅地亞舉行。學童結領帶上學,很多人亦會特別慶祝克羅地亞這文化遺產。有些人甚至給全歐第六大的古羅馬鬥獸場—普拉競技場(Pula Arena)—結上領帶。2003年,全球最大的領帶出現伊斯特拉(Istria)。可看以下短片/視頻重溫一下

手機短信停車收費科技:薩格勒布製造

我記得移居克羅地亞不久的一天,在薩格勒布尋找停車位。那時發現手機提供新服務—用短信付停車費,真是喜出望外的難忘。當時還不禁自忖:薩格勒布可真是追上歐洲其他地區。

幾個月之後我在倫敦公幹。英國首都竟意外地沒有提供類似停車收費科技。 我要數年後才得知薩格勒布不僅是全球第一個城市提供手機短信停車收費服務,而相關的科技更是克羅地亞製造。手機短信停車收費科技已在全球很多國家被廣泛應用。克羅地亞對世界又添一貢獻。

克羅地亞從天而降的發明:Faust Vrancic及其降落傘

雖然不及後繼的特斯拉(Nikola Tesla)多產,但Faust 於16及17世紀在希貝尼克(Sibenik)為世界作出了不起的貢獻

croatian inventions parachute

歸功於他的眾多發明包括第一個可行的降落傘、吊橋及風力發電機。 Vrancice 畢生的心血現存放近希貝尼克的普爾維奇島(Prvic)上的 Faust Vrancic 紀念中心(Faust Vrancic Memorial Centre) ,大家可以去參觀探索。

當音樂遇上大自然:巴希奇(Nikola Basic)及扎達爾(Zadar)的海洋管風琴

克羅地亞是一個有悠久音樂傳統的大自然天堂。所以把兩者結合再加一點克羅地亞最著名建築師的獨特專業觸角,結果會怎樣?

海洋管風琴 (克羅地亞語: Morske orgulje) 位於扎達爾 (Zadar) ,是融合建築與聲音藝術的作品。這是實驗性的樂器,由海浪及音管合奏樂章。整組音管被安置於大理石梯級之下的海中。

建築師巴希奇(Nikola Basic)負責設計海洋管風琴,造就它成為熱門旅遊景點。以下短片/視頻介紹海洋管風琴的運作。

拯救生命及保障健康:隔離及杜布羅夫尼克共和國(Dubrovnik Republic)

對「權力遊戲」(Games of Thrones) 的擁躉來說,杜布羅夫尼克(Dubrovnik )可能是現實中的君臨(King’s Landing)。但這顆「亞德里亞海的明珠」其實有自身不凡的歷史(想進一步了解詳情,可以參考TCN精選:25項有關杜布羅夫尼克(Dubrovnik) 的事情 )。但你知否杜布羅夫尼克是全世界率先實施「隔離」的地方?

位於克羅地亞達爾馬提亞(Dalmatia)海岸的杜布羅夫尼克,於1377年首次實行隔離。首間瘟疫醫院(lazaretto) 由威尼斯共和國於1423年成立,地點為拿撒勒聖瑪利亞島(Santa Maria di Nazareth)

croatian inventions quarantine

Miroslav Radman及應急反應

從手機短信停車到應急反應。克羅地亞科學家Miroslav Radman在1975年發現並取名應急反應的機制維基百科 可能解釋得較我清楚:

應急反應為應對DNA受損的全面反應。正常細胞週期被抑制,DNA修復及誘突變作用(mutagenesis)被引發。整個系統涉及RecA蛋白 (真核細胞的Rad51蛋白)。經單鏈DNA刺激,RecA蛋白參與滅活抑制應急反應的LexA蛋白,從而引發應急反應。這是容易出錯的修復系統,導致大範圍物種顯著的DNA變異。

魚雷及水炮

克羅地亞發明亦在軍事運作擔當顯要的角色。魚雷的祖家在里耶卡(Rijeka)就是一例。

croatian inventions torpedo

Giovanni Luppis 無意中發現一份未完成的設計圖,作者為一位不知名的奧地利海軍陸戰隊軍官。圖則顯示一艘配備炸藥的小型自航船,可從陸地調動對抗敵軍船隻。Luppis發展了原型但不滿意。他後來在里耶卡(Rijeka)接觸到英籍工程師Robert Whitehead 並告之其意念。

Whitehead 把整個概念成功發展成自動導航並於水位線以下作出攻擊的爆炸裝置。 雖然Whitehead大幅修改了Luppis原概念,而該裝置亦被命名為Whitehead魚雷,Whitehead 仍表揚Luppis 為原發明者。

克羅地亞對水炮的面世亦扮演主要角色。 第二次世界大戰之後,克羅地亞人 John Miskovich 在阿拉斯加當黄金礦工。他聰明的水炮發明令他永遠脫離採礦生涯

Miskovich的技術可見於現今採礦及滅火的水炮車上。

倍路希克(Josip Belusic) 及電動速度計

或許Mate Rimac發明了全球最快的超級炮車是命中注定。因為他的同胞在130多年前發明了世界第一部電動速度計。

來自伊斯特拉(Istria)拉賓(Labin)的倍路希克(Josip Belusic)於1888年設計他稱為velocimeter的電動速度計並獲得專利。他的設計在1890年巴黎世界博覽會擊敗其他120名專利參賽者,成為最準確的速度計而被正式接納。

博斯科維奇 (Ruder Boskovic) 的原子論

杜布羅夫尼克共和國(Dubrovnik Republic)歷來人才輩出,且不乏啟發後世的人物。 當中沒有人比18世紀的博斯科維奇(Rudjer Boskovic)更為人稱道。

croatian inventions boskovic atomic theory

博斯科維奇創立了原子論的前身,並為天文學貢獻良多。當中包括首次透過幾何學運算,用表面三個觀察點來決定一個星球的赤度,還有用一個星球的三個位置來計算它的軌道。他於1753 年發現月球上沒有大氣層

Darko Pervan 及強化地板 (laminate flooring)

瑞典可以成為歐洲家具王國得感謝宜家。所以強化地板於1970年代來自瑞典實不教人意外。但發明者為瑞典籍克羅地亞裔人Darko Pervan

Leo Sternbach發現的戴阿劑盤 (diazepam)及其他鎮靜劑

克羅地亞有豐富的醫療旅遊傳統。事實上,歐洲有組織的旅遊始於1868年,並造就赫瓦爾健康協會(Hvar Health Society)成立。

奧帕蒂亞(Opatija) 是醫療旅遊的磁石。所以奧帕蒂亞在藥物研發中扮演重要角色可不教人意外。而奧帕蒂亞正是生於1908年的Leo Sternbach的出生地。

Sternback 後來獲得舉世認可為苯二氮平類(benzodiazepines)的發現者。這一類藥物包括戴阿劑盤(Diazepam)、苯二氮平(Benzodiazepine)、氯二氮平(Chlordiazepoxide)、氟西泮(Flurazepam)、硝基安定/稍西泮(Nitrazepam)、氯硝西泮(Clonazepam)、氟硝西泮(Flunitrazepam)及樟磺咪芬(Trimetaphan camsilate)。他於2005年逝世

自由! 杜布羅夫尼克(Dubrovnik) 和科爾丘拉 (Korcula) 廢除奴隸制

croatian inventions slavery abolition romulic and stojcic
版權屬 Romulic and Stojcic

克羅地亞對世界貢獻良多。但最意外的可能莫過於奴隸制度之首被廢除。 杜布羅夫尼克共和國(Dubrovnik Republic )廢除奴隸制已超過六百年。 但另一克羅地亞島嶼打敗他們贏得首位。那榮譽歸再早兩百多年達成此事的科爾丘拉島(Korcula)

Croatia may be a small country, Croatian inventions and discoveries have shaped the world over the ages. From Nikola Tesla to Mate Rimac and much more.

The current tourist board slogan of Croatia, Full of Life is a fine setting for the topic of Croatian inventions and discoveries. For the truth is that, while one of Europe’s hottest tourist destinations may be full of life, have you ever stopped to consider how much your life is full of Croatia?

Croatian inventions have given the world so much – take a brief tour of the highlights

The one and only Nikola Tesla

Let’s deal first with the elephant in the room. Was Nikola Tesla a Serb or a Croat? Along with everything else in this proud region, different countries claim their bragging rights.

The truth is that Tesla was an ethnic Serb born in the village of Smiljan, which is located in modern Croatia near Gospic. He seemed to be equally proud of his dual heritage, but more concerned with his life’s work, which was considerable.

With around 300 patents for his many inventions, Tesla is perhaps best know for inventing the first alternating current (AC) motor and developed AC generation and transmission technology.

Learn more about the genius that was Nikola Tesla.

A modern-day electric genius: Mate Rimac

He may be just 30, but Mate Rimac is already one of the greats in the world of Croatian inventions. In a country where there is no car industry whatsoever, Rimac Automobili has taken the global car industry by storm, attracting multi-million dollar investment from the likes of Porsche in the process.

croatian inventions mate rimac
With Mate Rimac and Concept One at the 2016 Nikla Tesla EV Rally

Producers of the fastest electric supercar in the world, initially Concept One, but now Concept Two, the core business of Rimac Automobili is in supplying battery and other technology to other automotive businesses.

With plans also to open a factory in China, the sky is the limit for the young entrepreneur, and you can learn more about Rimac and his plans in this excellent recent article in the Financial Times.

Forensic fingerprinting: Ivan Vucetic

Croatia is an extremely safe country, and this is one of the many things which attracts millions of tourists each year.

The country has a strong tradition of safety, for it was a man from Hvar who discovered the importance of fingerprinting in fighting crime.

croatian inventions ivan vucetic

Ivan Vuctetic emigrated to Argentina at the end of the 19th century, where he became a police officer called Juan Vucetic. A bloody handprint in a murder case propelled Vucetic to global prominence, and people know him today as the grandfather of dactyloscopy. Learn more about Ivan Vucetic and the art of fingerprinting.

Slavoljub Penkala: from the pen to the hot water bottle

Born in Hungary, Eduard Penkala in 1871, Eduard Penkala moved to Zagreb in the kingdom of Croatia-Slavonia at the turn of the century. He decided to become a naturalised Croat out of loyalty to him new homeland. He also took the name Slavoljub (slavophile).

Penkala was prolific, and among the Croatian inventions he gave the world, he is most famous for the first mechanical pencil in 1906, as well as the first solid-ink fountain pen in 1907. He was a partner in the Penkala-Moster Company, which was one of the biggest pen and pencil factories in the world.

Penkala’s genius extended far beyond pens. He built the first Croatian aircraft in 1910, which was the first to take off from Zagreb’s first ever airport. Among the 80 patents he held, other inventions included the hot water bottle.

Croatian style in Paris: the cravat

croatian inventions cravat

Croatians are very stylish, and their fashion puts this poorly-dressed Englishman to shame. It comes as no surprise, therefore, to learn that Croatia has made an elegant sartorial contribution to the world – the cravat.

From ‘The Art of Tying the Cravat’ by H. B. LeBlanc in 1828:

“In 1660 a regiment of Croats arrived in France — a part of their singular costume excited the greatest admiration, and was immediately and generally imitated.

This was a tour de cou, made (for the private soldiers) of common lace, and of muslin or silk for the officers.

The ends were arranged en rosette , or ornamented with a button or tuft, which hung gracefully on the breast. This new arrangement, which confined the throat but very slightly, was at first termed a Croat, since corrupted to Cravat.

The Cravats of the officers and people of rank were extremely fine, and the ends were embroidered or trimmed with broad lace.

Those for the lower classes were subsequently made of cloth or cotton, or at the best of black taffeta, plaited: which was tied round the neck by two small strings.”

International Cravat Day takes place in Croatia on October 18. Schoolchildren wear ties to school, and many people make an effort to celebrate this part of Croatian heritage. Some even tie a cravat around the sixth largest Roman Amphitheatre in Europe, the Pula Arena. Back in 2003, the biggest cravat in the world came to Istria, as you can see in the video below.

SMS parking: made in Zagreb

I remember looking for parking in Zagreb soon after I moved to Croatia. It was more than impressive to find a new mobile phone service on offer – paying for parking by SMS. Zagreb really was catching up with the rest of Europe, I remember thinking to myself.

A couple of months later, I was on business in London and, surprisingly, the British capital did not have the same parking technology on offer. It was only several years later that I realised that not only was Zagreb the first city in the world to offer SMS-parking services, but the technology was in fact Croatian. SMS parking technology is now popular in many countries around the world. Just one more contribution from Croatia to the world.

Croatian inventions from the air: Faust Vrancic and the parachute

Perhaps not quite as prolific as Nikola Tesla who followed him, but Faust Vrancic made a superb contribution to the world during his life in Sibenik in the 16th and 17th centuries.

croatian inventions parachute

He is credited with, among other things, the invention of the first functional parachute, the suspension bridge, and the wind turbine. Vrancic’s life and work is available to explore at the Faust Vrancic Memorial Centre on the island of Prvic close to Sibenik.

When music meets nature: Nikola Basic and the Zadar sea organ

Croatia is a natural paradise with a long tradition in music. So what happens when you combine the two with a little architectural flair from one of Croatia’s most renowned architects?

The sea organ (Croatian: Morske orgulje) is an architectural sound art object located in Zadar. It is an experimental musical instrument, which plays music by way of sea waves and tubes. The tubes are located underneath a set of large marble steps.

Architect Nikola Basic designed the sea organ, which has become a firm tourism hit. Learn more about it and see it in action in the video below.

Saving lives and protecting health: Quarantine and the Dubrovnik Republic

Dubrovnik may be the real-life Kings Landing for Game of Thrones fans today, but the Pearl of the Adriatic has quite some history of its own (you can learn a lot of it from TCN’s 25 things to know about Dubrovnik). But did you know that Dubrovnik was the first place in the world to introduce the concept of quarantine?

Quarantine was first introduced in 1377 in Dubrovnik on Croatia’s Dalmatian Coast, and the first permanent plague hospital (lazaretto) was opened by the Republic of Venice in 1423 on the small island of Santa Maria di Nazareth.

croatian inventions quarantine

Miroslav Radman and the SOS response

From SMS parking to SOS response. Back in 1975, Croat Miroslav Radman discovered and named SOS response, which Wikipedia perhaps explains better than I can:

The SOS response is a global response to DNA damage in which the cell cycle is arrested and DNA repair and mutagenesis is induced. The system involves the RecA protein (Rad51 in eukaryotes). The RecA protein, stimulated by single-stranded DNA, is involved in the inactivation of the repressor (LexA) of SOS response genes thereby inducing the response. It is an error-prone repair system that contributes significantly to DNA changes observed in a wide range of species.

Of torpedoes and water cannon

Croatian inventions have played a prominent part in military operations as well. The home of the torpedo, for example, is in Rijeka.

croatian inventions torpedo

Giovanni Luppis came upon the unfinished plans of an unknown Austrian Marine Artillery officer for a small self-propelled boat loaded with explosives that could be deployed against enemy ships and steered from land. Luppis developed a prototype but was unsatisfied, but approached British engineer Robert Whitehead with the idea in Rijeka.

Whitehead developed the concept into a successful self-steered explosive device which would strike below the waterline. Though the device was heavily modified from Luppis’ concept and became known as the Whitehead torpedo, Whitehead credited Luppis as its inventor.

Croatia also played a major role in the arrival of the water cannon. After the Second World War, Croat John Miskovich was working in Alaska as a gold miner. His Intelligiant water cannon invention put his mining days behind him forever.

Miskovich’s technology in today’s world is in water cannon technology in the fields of mining and fire-fighting.

Josip Belusic and the electric speedometer

Perhaps it was fate that Mate Rimac invented the world’s fastest electric supercar. For it was a compatriot some 130 years ago who invented the world’s first electric speedometer.

Josip Belusic from Labin in Istria designed and patented his electric speedometer in 1888, and he called it a velocimeter. His design beat 120 other patent entrants as the most accurate and complete at the Exposition Universell in Paris in 1890, thereby becoming officially accepted.

The Boskovic atomic theory

The Dubrovnik Republic produced many inspriational characters over the centuries. None more so that Rudjer Boskovic in the 18th century.

croatian inventions boskovic atomic theory

Boskovic produced a precursor of atomic theory and made many contributions to astronomy. These included the first geometric procedure for determining the equator of a rotating planet from three observations of a surface feature and for computing the orbit of a planet from three observations of its position. In 1753 he also discovered the absence of atmosphere on the Moon.

Darko Pervan and laminate flooring

Sweden is the European king of home furnishings thanks to IKEA. So it is perhaps no surprise that the invention of laminate flooring came from Sweden back in the 1970s. But the man who invented it was Swedish Croat, Darko Pervan.

Diazepam and other tranquilisers from Leo Sternbach

Croatia has a rich health tourism tradition, and indeed, organised tourism in Europe began in 1868 with the founding of the Hvar Health Society.

Opatija is also a magnet for health tourism, and so it is perhaps no surprise that Opatija also plays an important role in drug development. For Opatija was the birthplace of one Leo Sternbach in 1908.

Sternback would go on to earn global recognition as the man who discovered benzodiazepines. These include Diazepam, Benzodiazepine, Chlordiazepoxide, Flurazepam, Nitrazepam, Clonazepam, Flunitrazepam, and Trimetaphan camsilate. He died in 2005.

Freedom! Abolition of slavery in Dubrovnik and Korcula

croatian inventions slavery abolition romulic and stojcic
Copyright Romulic and Stojcic

Croatia has contributed so many things to the world, but perhaps none more surprising than the abolition of slavery. It is more than 600 years since the Dubrovnik Republic abolished slavery, but a Croatian island beat them to first place. That honour falls to the island of Korcula some 200 years earlier.