Some posts contain compensated links. Please read this disclaimer for more info.

虽然国家细小,但克罗地亚在世界舞台留下不少举足轻重的印记。我们来细看一下克罗地亚较任何一国厉害的十大强项吧。

本文某些链接可能会接连到英语或克罗地亚语的网页和/或网站。

庆典 — 不论生与死

2018年俄罗斯世界杯会长留每一位克罗地亚人的回忆。并非只因这敢于梦想的小国在赛场上达成不可思议的成就,更由于举国给予球队空前的支持。

世上那一个国家会有全国15%的人口挤满首都大街小巷,只为欢迎他们的国家英雄载誉而归?整个过程毫无事故发生。超过55万民众走到街上迎接决赛落败的球员,他们沿途却已赢取了过百万人的心。

克罗地亚懂得狂欢寻乐之余,全国的心在世界杯结束数天后,因一个截然不同的原因又再紧扣一起:共同悼念他们至爱的歌手Oliver Dragojevic。

Dragojevic 的最后一程挺特别,双体船把遗体从斯普利特(Split)送到科尔丘拉岛(Korcula)的韦拉卢卡(Vela Luka)安葬,整个过程满载人们对他无法言喻的爱和致意。我的另一篇文章有​​更详细的报导:不论生与死,克罗地亚皆是庆典的世界冠军 。这可能是我在TCN平台最受欢迎的一篇文章。

放松 — 有人想要fjaka吗?

cat-fjaka-croatia

「慢慢来」(Pomalo)— 在克罗地亚沿海地区必学的一个字。 「慢慢来」算是比较粗略的翻译,「极度慢慢来」才比较贴切。

全世界无疑不乏令人很放松的地方,但达尔马提亚 (Dalmatia) 海岸别树一帜。世间上到底那一处的人需要努力地无为呢?沮丧的外国人常误会这是慵懒。进一步认识 fjaka 的境界

大自然 — 把10%国土用作公园的国家

Krka National Park

克罗地亚的秀美确实令人屏息。 1770公里的婉折海岸和1000个大小岛屿可能最引人注目。但大自然之美不仅如此。十六湖国家公园为联合国教科文组织的世界遗产,每年吸引数以百万计游人。而克罗地亚还有18个国家及自然公园。

当过度发展和贪婪成为新世代常态,克罗地亚把不少于10%国土用作公园确实不可思议。你觉得自己一次过饱览这些大自然美景会吃得消吗?查阅 Total Croatia有关克罗地亚国家及自然公园的指南

体育成就

打进莫斯科的世界杯决赛,只是克罗地亚最近的体育成就。人口仅四百万的小国,其体坛成积较人口多一百倍的国家更耀眼。莫德里奇(Modric)、拿杰迪锡(Rakitic)及一众队友比1998年获得法国世界杯季军的克罗地亚国家队更进一步。点选一体育项目, 总有克罗地亚的印记。斯普利特(Split) 甚至被视为拥有最多人均奥运奖牌获奖者的城市。

无网球迷会忘记伊云尼斯域(Goran Ivanisevic)以外卡球员身份捧走温布顿冠军的非凡成就。克罗地亚随后两夺台维斯杯,更有西里奇(Marin Cilic)及马约莉(Iva Majoli) 分别赢得美国公开赛男单及法国公开赛女单冠军。

奥运金牌包括男子手球(两次)、男子水球、划艇、射击、标枪及科斯特利奇(Janica Kostelic) 独取的4枚滑雪金牌。佩尔科维奇(Sandra Perkovic)亦在女子掷铁饼雄霸多时。克罗地亚还有来自跳高、体操及跆拳道的世界冠军。男子篮球队亦在1992年巴塞隆拿奥运会掷下实至名归的一枚银牌从Total Croatia指南认识更多克罗地亚的体育资讯。Croatia guide.

从Tesla到Rimac,发明的引擎

克罗地亚人的体育成绩超群,他们在发明的领域一样傲视同侪。有特斯拉(Nikola Tesla)这样的人材在自己国家出生当然大有帮助。但宛如特斯拉的天才仍大有人在。

想得知你的生活被克罗地亚改善了多少?用克罗地亚旅游局的宣传口号玩一次文字游戏:克罗地亚,充满活力(Croatia, Full of Life)。看一下以上视频,了解你的生活充满克罗地亚(Your life is full of Croatia) 的程度。

接着可浏览 Total Croatia相关指南 ,查阅克罗地亚贡献了什么发明和发现给世界。

世上最动人的爱情故事

罗密欧与茱丽叶请靠边站,你们的爱情故事完全被比下去至微不足道。

历来最伟大的爱情故事之一是有关一对克罗地亚鹳 Klepetan及Malena。 Klepetan每年回暖之时都会回归爱巢,与至爱的Malena团聚。 Malena因为翅膀的伤患,无法与 Klepetan结伴南飞。但小别胜新婚。这故事令人动容之处还有一直细心照顾这一对壁鹳的克罗地亚老人。查看视频并细心欣赏史上最伟大的爱情故事之一。

小岛、大岛、群岛

galesnik-croatia

克罗地亚拥有超过一千个岛屿。实际数字介乎1185与1244之间,视乎你的资料来源。虽然有些国家可以炫耀自己岛屿的秀丽与克罗地亚不相伯仲,但那一国可以同时夸耀岛屿的美景和多样呢?

游览克罗地亚不同的岛屿,你的发现会包括:联合国教科文组织的世界遗产、欧洲最古老的公众剧院、秘密军事隧道和潜艇基地、马可孛罗的出生地、国家公园、一个拥有千株树龄过千岁的橄榄树林、罕见的秃头鹫、拥有一座大钢琴又无法进入的修院、世界上最优质的乳酪、一个集中营、一个被一位赤裸的英国国王用作开展克罗地亚天体旅游的海滩、以珊瑚和天然海绵著名的岛屿及一个充满珍禽异兽的独裁者私人公园。进一步了解克罗地亚岛屿的魔力和多元多

欧洲知晓何谓文明之前的欧洲文明

雅典请让路,罗马亦请靠边站。因为发现了最出人意表的事情:欧洲最古老而一直有人聚居的城市在克罗地亚,历史长达八千四百年。

而且还要远离海岸。温科夫齐(Vinkovci)傲立于鲜为人知但同样秀美的东克罗地亚游览一下欧洲最古老而一直有人聚居的城市

世上最安静的拉力赛

作为一国的品牌,我实在想像不到更好的剧情:电动车拉力赛横越特斯拉(Nikola Tesla)出生的国家。一个把10%国土用作国家和自然公园的国家。一个汽车工业只有一家公司的国家。而这家公司的出品还未及十部车。但它们却是世上最强劲的,且是电动车。

而这一场拉力赛的参赛者包括Maye Musk,现代特斯拉之母;Mate Rimac,克罗地亚电动车巨擘。后者不仅以他的汽车,更多凭借他的科技,及其价值一百万的超级跑车Concept One,逐渐疯靡整个汽车工业。

如果还有一个更好的—或更安静的—拉力赛新闻,我仍未听闻。记得查看上面的特斯拉电动车拉力赛视频。

咖啡 — 已说得够多

coffee-split-croatia

如果你爱星巴克,你大概选错旅游地点。克罗地亚完全没有星巴克。真有一天出现了,我将十分惊讶。

咖啡犹如这里的宗教,也是一种生活方式,就如吃饭、睡觉那般重要。对于咖啡,我是史前人类。一早在家享用一杯即溶咖啡,通常不消十分钟便完事。

本地人可不是这样! 约人喝杯咖啡是克罗地亚的国民大事。我不仅对点咖啡的复杂程度和咖啡选择啧啧称奇,更惊叹克罗地亚人的一杯咖啡可以喝那么长时间。那根本是一种艺术!

我试过很多次约朋友喝「咖啡」聚一聚。当我已四杯啤酒下了肚,他们仍在喝那一小杯浓缩咖啡。咖啡馆和咖啡文化是克罗地亚社会文化最重要的组成部份,也是这里最引人入胜的生活层面之一。无一个国家胜过克罗地亚。

It may be a relatively small country, but Croatia punches above its weight on the world stage in so many ways. Here are ten things Croatia does better than anyone else.

Celebration – in life and in death

The World Cup in Russia in 2018 will live long in the memory of every Croat. But not just the incredible success on the pitch of this tiny country which dared to dream, but also for the phenomenal support the nation put behind the team.

Where else in the world would you get some 15% of the ENTIRE country on the streets of the capital to welcome home their heroes. And without one single incident. More than 550,000 people lined the streets of Zagreb to welcome home the beaten finalists. They had won millions of hearts along the way.

While Croatia knows how to party in the good times, the nation’s hearts were captured for very different reasons a few days after the World Cup with the death of its most beloved singer, Oliver Dragojevic.

Dragojevic got quite a send-off, with an incredible show of love and appreciation as he made his final journey by catamaran from Split to Vela Luka on Korcula. My news article at the time took a closer look. In Life and in Death, Croatia are World Champions at Celebration was probably my most popular article ever on TCN.

Relaxation – fjaka anyone?

cat-fjaka-croatia

‘Pomalo’ – an essential word to learn for your visit to the coast. ‘Take it easy’ would be a loose translation. ‘Take it really easy’ would be a more accurate loose description.

While there are many chilled spots around the world, the Dalmatian coast does it differently. After all, where else in the world do you have to actively work to do nothing? Often mistaken for laziness by frustrated foreigners, learn more about the fjaka state of mind.

Nature – a country with 10% of its land given to parks

Croatia is a stunning country which truly takes your breath away. Its fabled 1,770 km of coast and 1,000 islands may be the highlights, but the beauty does not stop there. UNESCO World Heritage Site Plitvice Lakes attracts more than a million visitors annually, one of 19 national and nature parks.

Incredibly, in an era where overdevelopment and greed are the norm, no less than 10% of Croatia’s land mass is given over to those parks. Think you can handle so much natural beauty in one go? Check out the Total Croatia guide to the national and nature parks of Croatia.

Sporting success

Reaching the World Cup Final in Moscow was just the latest sporting success for Croatia, a country of 4 million, whose sporting achievements outshine countries with populations 100 times larger. Modric, Rakitic and co. went one better than the Class of 1998, who finished in third in France, but you name the sport, and Croatia will have made its mark. So much so, in fact, that it is said that Split has the most Olympic medals per capita of any city in the world.

No tennis fan will forget the magnificent achievement of wildcard Goran Ivanisevic at Wimbledon. That was followed by two Croatian Davis Cup victories, as well as US Open and Roland Garros triumphs for Marin Cilic and Iva Majoli respectively.

Olympic golds in handball (twice), water polo, rowing, shooting, javelin, 4 skiing Olympic golds for Janica Kostelic, while Sandra Perkovic dominates the discus discipline. World Championship golds in the high jump, gymnastics and taekwando. And a very creditable Olympic silver in basketball at Barcelona 1992. Learn more about Croatian sports in our Total Croatia guide.

From Tesla to Rimac, an engine of invention

Sporting overachievers Croatians may be, but so too in the world of invention and discovery. Of course, it helps if one Nikola Tesla was born in your country, but Tesla’s genius was in very good company.

Want to learn just how much your life has been improved by Croatia? In a nice play on words of the official Croatian National Tourist Board slogan, Croatia Full of Life, find out how your life is full of Croatia in the video above.

And then find out just how much more Croatia has contributed to the world of invention and discovery in our Total Croatia guide to the topic.

The best love story in the world

Move over Romeo and Juliet, your love story pales into insignifance by comparison.

One of the greatest love stories of all time, the Croatian storks of Klepetan and Malena are reunited each year as Klepetan returns to the nest of his beloved Malena each year after the migration. She, with her injured wing, cannot join him on the journey south, but absence makes the heart go fonder. No less loving in this story is the Croatian man who has taken such good care of them over the years. Check out one of the greatest love stories of all time above.

Islands, islands, islands

galesnik-croatia

Croatia has more than a thousand islands, the exact number being somewhere between 1185 and 1244, depending on who you talk to. And while there are several other countries which boast island beauty on a par with Croatia, who can boast such beauty and diversity?

Visit the islands of Croatia and you can find, among other things: a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the oldest public theatre in Europe, hidden military tunnels and submarine bases, the birthplace of Marko Polo, national parks, an olive grove with 1000 trees each more than 1000 years old, rare griffon vultures, an inaccessible monastery with a grand piano, the world’s best cheese, a concentration camp, a beach where a naked British king started naturist tourism in Croatia, islands famous for their coral and natural sponges, and a dictator’s private park of exotic animals from zebras to elephants. Learn more about the magic and diversity of Croatia’s islands.

European civilisation before Europe knew what civilisation was

Move over Athens, move over Rome, for one of the biggest surprises of discovering Croatia was to learn that the oldest continuously inhabited town in Europe – dating back some 8,400 years – was in Croatia.

And nowhere near the coast. Vinkovci stands proudly in the lesser-known, but equally beautiful, eastern Croatia. Take a tour of the oldest continuously inhabited town in Europe.

The quietest rallies in the world

As a brand for a country, I can’t imagine a better scenario than this. An electric car rally through the country which was the birthplace of Nikola Tesla. A country which has 10% of its land mass given over to national and nature parks. A country whose car industry consists of just one company which has so far produced less than 10 cars, but they happen to be among the world’s most powerful – and electric.

And on this rally, participants have included Maye Musk, mother of the modern Mr Tesla, Mate Rimac, the Croatian electric car supremo who is slowly taking the automobile industry by storm not only with his cars, but more so with his technology, and the first owner of Rimac’s $1 million Concept One.

If there is a better rally story than that – or a quieter one – I have yet to hear it. Check out the Nikola Tesla EV Rally in the video above.

Coffee – enough said

coffee-split-croatia

If Starbucks is your thing, you are perhaps visiting the wrong country. There is no Starbucks in Croatia, and I would be surprised if there will ever be one.

Coffee is a religion here, a way of life which is as important as eating and sleeping. I personally am a Neanderthal when it comes to coffee, enjoying a morning Nescafe at home, which I usually finish in ten minutes maximum.

Not so with the locals! Meeting for a coffee one of the nation’s top things to do, and I am constantly in awe not only with the complexity of the ordering process and range of coffee options, but also just how long Croats can make a coffee last. It truly is an art form!

Many has been the time when I have met a friend for a ‘coffee’, then managed to get through four beers while they consume one tiny espresso. The cafe and coffee culture is one of the most important components of the fabric of society in Croatia, and also one of the most attractive aspects of life here. No country does it better.

Write A Comment